To get a CHL/LTC you must do 3 things which can be done in any order:
(1) You must apply with DPS online
(2) you must get your fingerprints and background check done,
(3) You must attend a CHL/LTC class or an online CHL/LTC class and the additional range training/shooting proficiency, and submit your certificate to DPS. Besides meeting these licensing requirements, you must be legally eligible. For more information on the other licensing requirements if you are legally eligible please click the FAQ tab for complete information. For Texas resident license eligibility:
(1) You must have resided in Texas for at least 6 months prior to applying for you license. You may get a non-resident license if you do not meet that requirement.
(2) You must be 21 years old or in the armed forces, reserves, or national guard, or honorably discharged, and at least 18 years old and meet all of the other eligibility requirements. You may take the CHL/LTC class if at least 20 years old and not in any of the above armed forces, reserves, or national guard, but you may not apply until your 21st birthday.
(3) You cannot have been convicted of a felony, ever.
(4) You cannot have been charged with commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense or of a felony under an information or indictment. You may apply for a CHL after 5 years of a conviction.
(5) You cannot be a fugitive from justice for a felony or a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense.
(6) You cannot be a chemically dependent person.
(7) You must be capable of exercising sound judgement with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun.
(8) You must not in the five years preceding the date of your application, have been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense.
(9) You must be fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun.
(10) You must not have been finally determined to be delinquent in making a child support payment administered or collected by the attorney general.
(11) You must not have been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, the tax collector of a political subdivision of the state, or any agency or subdivision of the state.
(12) You must not be currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property interests.
(13) You must not in the 10 years preceding the date of application been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law of the grade of felony.
(14) You must not have made any material misrepresentation or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411,174.